Warrior – Heroic Leap

warrior1

“For as long as war has raged, heroes from every race have aimed to master the art of battle. Warriors combine strength, leadership, and a vast knowledge of arms and armor to wreak havoc in glorious combat. Some protect from the front lines with shields, locking down enemies while allies support the warrior from behind with spell and bow. Others forgo the shield and unleash their rage at the closest threat with a variety of deadly weapons.” World of Warcraft Official Site

Class Information

All information is obtained from WoWPedia.org
Class : Warrior
Available Races : [A] Dwarf, Draenei, Gnome, Human, Night Elf, Worgen | [H] Blood Elf, Undead, Goblin, Orc, Tauren, Troll | [N] Pandaren
Role : Melee DPS, Tank
Specializations : Fury (Melee), Protection (Tank), Arms (Healer)
Gear Type : Strength plate
Resources : Rage
Useable Weapons : Bows, Crossbows, Guns, Daggers, Fist Weapons, Staves, Polearms, 1-Handed & 2-Handed Axes, Swords and maces

 

Rating

Levelling Speed : 6/10
Survivability : 9/10
Gameplay : 7/10
Utility : 7/10
Soloing Capability : 9/10
Transmog Options : 7/10
Overall : 6.8/10

Review

Warriors are pretty awesome. My personal favorite ability is Heroic Leap, which allows the Warrior to jump anywhere between 8 and 40 yards from their current location. This ability is pretty much the only reason I wanted a warrior. I personally found them difficult to level , and am not a massive fan, but they are still a very awesome class.

Leveling Speed

As I mentioned, levelling a warrior was very difficult to me. So difficult that I have never actually levelled one myself from 1-90. I cheated with my warrior and used Recruit-A-Friend to gift levels to get my warrior to 85, and then levelled it from 85-90.

raf

The highest I have ever gotten a warrior on my own (without RAF) was about level 60, where I felt that warriors severely slow down. It may just be a personal thing, but I was always rage starved. Rage, as mentioned above, is their primary resource, and being rage starved means I was not generating enough rage to actively continue damage. Warriors also have little to no self-healing, which I will go over in the next section.

Survivability

Surprisingly, max level warriors have a very high survivability. Unfortunately their low-level counter-parts cannot say the same. The main reason I struggled to level my own warrior was due to the fact that I was rage starved (as previously mentioned). I could barely kill something before it killed me due to my little to no self-healing. So if you plan on levelling a warrior, please pick up cooking or first aid to help keep your ass alive in the process. However if you go protection, you will most likely never die, but it will take 10 times longer to kill something (as with any tank).

In PvP (player versus player), Warriors are insane. Like totally freakin insane. You can’t kill them, but they will certainly destroy you before you even knew what happened. I do not personally know much about Warriors in PvP, so here is a few blogs and a video to display how freaking insane this class is.

Gameplay

In general, I found warriors to be pretty boring. I enjoy their handful of abilities that effect the raid, but I did not enjoy them enough to level more than one to 90. So admittedly, I am not the most knowledgeable person about warriors. So instead of giving you my own opinion on warriors, I will instead provide you with lots of links about warriors that other (more knowledgeable) players compiled.

http://www.mattfossen.com/blog/

http://onslaughtwarrior.com/

Utility

Warriors do have a lot of neat abilities that help out the entire raid. They have banners they can drop that each do different abilities. They also have a couple “shouts” that give the warrior rage and their party a buff. They also have an ability that increases health in their party by 20% for 10 seconds. For a more detailed list of warrior abilities and utility be sure to check out this guide by Icy-Veins.com

Soloing Capability

Warriors struggle to solo content due to their lack of self-healing. Fortunately for them though they dish out so much damage, that soloing content before dying is still possible. I have never gotten skilled enough on a warrior to do such a thing, but here is a video of a warrior soloing the first boss of the last raid for level 85 content. This boss is still difficult to solo for other classes.

Transmog Options

Warriors have one of the coolest transmogs I have seen in the game. Not only do their tier sets look nice, but warriors also have access to all plate, giving them diverse options when it comes to looking fancy.

warrior3 Untitled Untitled2

Overall

I would personally prefer to not level a warrior again simply due to how slow they felt to level. Maybe I just never gave them a chance. I know a lot of good players who play warriors and they astound me with how well they can play the class, but it was just never something that clicked in my mind.

Leave a Reply

